EndPreviousNextEnd EndPrint This TopicEnd

Digital Channel - Advanced Scheduling

Add-on Modules / Digital Signage / Schedules

Streaming Media / Digital Channel

Using a built-in scheduler, you can control where and when your streaming media slides and playlists are displayed.

 

To manage your communication channel schedules - open the Contegro start menu and select Add-on Modules > Digital Signage > Schedules.

Contegro Start > Add-on Modules > Digital Signage > Schedulesc

By default, all active schedules are listed in the Schedules tab.

Digital Signage > Schedules

Search fields are available if you want to locate a specific schedule.

Schedule search

From the Schedules page, you can:

Add a new schedule or duplicate an existing digital channel schedule.

Edit schedules - add/remove playlists/slides from the weekly schedule, change the schedule location or status.

Delete scheduled content from your digital channel.


Add/Duplicate schedule

1.To add a new schedule - click NEW SCHEDULE or duplicate an existing schedule.

New schedule

2.Depending on your selection in step 1:

i.In the New Schedule editor, set the schedule name and location(s)* and go to step 3.
Add new schedule
 
OR
 

ii.In the Duplicate Schedule pop up, set the schedule name and location(s)* and click Save.  Proceed to step 3 or if there are no other changes to the schedule, go to step 4.
Duplicate schedule     

*Note:  A schedule can be assigned to multiple locations.  If another schedule is already associated to a location, you will see the schedule name in brackets. By selecting a new location, you will remove any previous schedule/location association.

 

3.Next, choose one of the following options to schedule your channel content:

i.Basic Schedule - Choose a default playlist or slide to loop continuously throughout each day (see note):

a.Open the [Playlists] tab on the left and choose an active playlist in the dropdown
Choose a default playlist
 
OR
 

b.Open the [Slides] tab on the left and choose an active slide in the dropdown
Choose a default slide

 

NOTE: Playlists will have a three-bar icon beside it, and slides will have none.
 
DigitalSignage_SchedulesIcons

 

TIP: Select 'Use previous day's playlist' in the dropdown to duplicate the previous days schedule.

 

ii.Advanced Schedule - Add one or more playlists / slides to specific time slots. Either in addition to your basic schedule or as an alternative:

a.Select the [Playlists] tab on the left and drag one or more playlists to specific time slots in the weekly scheduler

b.Select the [Slides] tab on the left and drag one or more slides to specific time slots in the weekly scheduler

 

Note:  Default playlists/slides will continue to play throughout the day unless a playlist or slide is added to a specific time slot.

TIP:  (i) When adding playlists to the scheduler, you do not need to add the same playlist to each time slot. If you add a playlist to the 6am slot on Monday and another playlist in the 12pm slot on the same day. The 6am playlist will continue to play up until 12pm.  (ii) You can add multiple playlists to a half hour time slot.

 

4.Click SAVE.

Save schedule

Key Info: The default time between syncs is 5 minutes. All saved changes will appear on your digital signage when a full sync has run.  See Location API report for details.

 

 

 

 


Edit schedule

1.To edit your schedule, use the search fields or scroll through the schedule list and click (Edit schedule).

Edit schedule

2.In the schedule editor, update the schedule name, location and status settings as required.  To edit the scheduled content:
 

i.Basic Schedule - Choose a default playlist or slide to loop continuously throughout each day (see note):

a.Open the [Playlists] tab on the left and choose an active playlist in the dropdown
Choose a default playlist
 
OR
 

b.Open the [Slides] tab on the left and choose an active slide in the dropdown
Choose a default slide

 

TIP: Select 'Use previous day's playlist' in the dropdown to duplicate the previous days schedule.

 

ii.Advanced Schedule - Add one or more playlists / slides to specific time slots. Either in addition to your basic schedule or as an alternative:

a.Select the [Playlists] tab on the left and drag one or more playlists to specific time slots in the weekly scheduler

b.Select the [Slides] tab on the left and drag one or more slides to specific time slots in the weekly scheduler

 

Note:  Default playlists/slides will continue to play throughout the day unless a playlist or slide is added to a specific time slot.

TIP:  (i) When adding playlists to the scheduler, you do not need to add the same playlist to each time slot. If you add a playlist to the 6am slot on Monday and another playlist in the 12pm slot on the same day. The 6am playlist will continue to play up until 12pm.  (ii) You can add multiple playlists to a half hour time slot.

 

3.Click SAVE.

Save schedule changes

Key Info: The default time between syncs is 5 minutes. All saved changes will appear on your digital signage when a full sync has run.  See Location API report for details.

 


Delete schedule

1.To delete a schedule, use the [Status ] dropdown or click (Delete Schedule).

Delete schedule

Note: Deleted schedules can be restored before the next purge cycle; after which they are permanently deleted.  To restore a deleted schedule, use the search fields to list deleted schedules and change the status to active.
Restore deleted schedule

Topic Link